On 24 February 2023, the Australian Government announced that it had imposed further targeted financial sanctions and travel bans on 90 persons, and targeted financial sanctions on 40 entities.  The new designations include Russian ministers with responsibilities spanning energy, natural resources, industry, education, labour, migration and health, being areas of economic and strategic significance to Russia or that threaten the territorial integrity or sovereignty of Ukraine, and include:

  1. Kalashnikov Concern, one of Russia’s largest arms manufacturers
  2. Submarine developer Admiralty Shipyards
  3. Aviation company Tupolev
  4. Missile designer Makeyev Rocket Design Bureau,
  5. Infantry fighting vehicle producer Kurganmashzavod.

Australia has now imposed more than 1,000 sanctions in response to Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine.