Akash Sikka


Representatives of China, France, Germany, Russia, the United Kingdom and Iran met on 26 February 2020 at a meeting of the Joint Commission of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA). All participants reaffirmed their commitment to the JCPOA and their strong support and collective responsibility for the continuation of key nuclear non-proliferation projects. The meeting follows the announcement on 14 January 2020 that the JCPOA Dispute Resolution Mechanism had been initiated by the E3 Foreign Ministers (see our earlier blog post here); the time limit for Joint Commission consideration of Iran’s actions was extended without a specific deadline at the end of January (extending the 15 day period that was triggered on 14 January).

The Foreign Ministers of France, Germany and the United Kingdom (the “E3 Foreign Ministers“) have today released a statement that they are triggering the dispute resolution mechanism in relation to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (“JCPOA“), following Iran’s decision to no longer abide by the uranium enrichment limits of the JCPOA (see our earlier blog post on this here).

As reported in our blog post of Tuesday 7 January (see here), the EU Foreign Affairs Council met on Friday 10 January 2020 to discuss recent developments involving Iran and the situation in Iraq. The EU Foreign Ministers assessed the consequences of recent events and emphasised their support for the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (“JCPOA”), stating that it was “a key element of the global nuclear non-proliferation architecture.” However, Ministers called for Iran to…