On 11 April 2017, the Council extended EU sanctions against Iran, which will now be in place until 13 April 2018. The legal acts are to be published in the Official Journal of 12 April 2017.

The sanctions have been in place since 2011, and consist of:

  • a travel ban and an asset freeze against 82 people and 1 entity;
  • a ban on exporting to Iran equipment which might be used for internal repression and equipment for monitoring telecommunications.

These sanctions relate to serious human rights violations and are separate to those relating to Iran’s nuclear programme, which were lifted by the Council on 16 January 2016.