The EU has today adopted its 10th package of sanctions against Russia. Please see here for relevant Regulations and Council decisions.

The new package includes the following measures:

  • Further export bans on critical technology and industrial goods, such as electronics, specialised vehicles, machine parts, spare parts for trucks and jet engines, as well as goods for the construction sector which can be directed to Russia’s military, such as antennas or cranes.
  • Expansion of the list of restricted items that could contribute to the technological enhancement of Russia’s defence and security sector to include additional new electronic components that are being used in Russian weapons systems retrieved on the battlefield, including drones, missiles, helicopters, as well as specific rare earth materials, electronic integrated circuits, and thermal cameras.
  • The EU has prohibited the transit through Russia of EU exported dual use goods and technology, in order to avoid circumvention.
  • Expansion of the list of entities supporting directly Russia’s military and industrial complex in its war of aggression by additional 96 entities, thereby imposing tighter export restrictions on them.
  • Introduction of further restrictions on the imports of goods which generate significant revenues for Russia, such as asphalt and synthetic rubber.
  • The EU has initiated the process for suspending the broadcasting licences of two additional media outlets: RT Arabic and Sputnik Arabic.
  • Prohibition on Russian nationals from holding any position in the governing bodies of EU critical infrastructures and entities.
  • Prohibition to provide gas storage capacity (with the exclusion of the part of LNG facilities) to Russian nationals.
  • Adoption of more detailed reporting obligations on funds and economic resources belonging to listed individuals and entities which have been frozen or were subject to any move shortly before the listing.
  • Introduction of new reporting obligations to the Member States and to the Commission on immobilized reserves and assets of the Central Bank of Russia.
  • Aircraft operators will have to notify non-scheduled flights to their national competent authorities, which will then inform other member states.
  • The EU has designated an additional 87 individuals and 34 entities. For the full list, please see here. The new listings include Alfa-Bank, Rosbank, and Tinkoff Bank, the National Wealth Fund of the Russian Federation, and the Russian National Reinsurance Company. In the Russian military and defence sector, a substantial number of designations are adopted including companies manufacturing missiles, drones, aircrafts, military vehicles, warships or control systems, and supplying the Russian Armed Forces.