On 28 January 2020, the European Council added seven persons to the list of those subject to restrictive measures (asset freezes and travel bans) over actions ‘undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine‘ (EU Press Release here).

The new designations arise as a result of the organisation of Russian local elections on 8 September 2019 in the illegally annexed Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the City of Sevastopol in Ukraine.

The Council decision brings the total number of persons listed by the EU to 177. The names of the persons concerned are set out in the Council’s Official Journal of 28 January 2020.

Other EU measures in place in response to the Ukraine crisis include:

  • economic sanctions targeting specific sectors of the Russian economy, currently in place until 31 July 2020;
  • restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol, limited to the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol, currently in place until 23 June 2020.