The European Union has imposed sanctions on three Russian individuals, including Deputy Energy Minister Andrey Cherezov, and three Russian companies, including two of Siemens’ contracting companies, in response to the delivery of Siemens’ gas turbines to Crimea in violation of EU sanctions.

On 4 August 2017 the Council of the European Union published Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/1417, to amend Annex 1 to Regulation (EU) No 269/2014 concerning restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine. The imposition of sanctions on the three individuals and three companies is in response to gas turbines (used for the development of new power plants) being supplied from Russia. This is a contravention of the EU’s prohibition of the supply of key equipment for the creation, acquisition or development of infrastructure projects in Crimea and Sevastopol.

The Council highlighted that this action undermined the EU’s non-recognition policy of the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol and supported their separation from Ukraine, as the purpose of the power plants was to establish an independent power supply for Crimea and Sevastopol.

The following individuals and entities have been sanctioned:

  • Andrey Cherezov (Vice-Minister for Energy of the Russian Federation)
  • Evgeniy Grabchak (Head of Department in the Energy Ministry of the Russian Federation)
  • Sergey Topor-Gilka (Director General of OAO VO Technopromexport)
  • OAO ‘VO Technopromexport’
  • OOO ‘VO Technopromexport’
  • ZAO Interavtomatika

Further details, including full reasons for the designations, are set out in Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/1417 (available here) and Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/1418 (available here).