On 17 July 2017, The European Council (the “Council“) added a further 16 persons to the list of persons targeted by EU’s Syrian sanctions regime. These persons include 8 scientists and 8 high ranking military officials, each involved in the development and use of chemical weapons against the Syrian civilian population. This decision brings the total number of persons being targeted by a travel ban and asset freeze to 255. In addition, 67 entities are now subject to an assets freeze.

The Council’s press release can be read in full here. The relevant Decision and amending Regulation were published today, 18 July 2017, in the Official Journal of the European Union. HM Treasury has also published a notice, which can be viewed here.