On 26 September 2022, the Swiss Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research amended Annex 8 of the Swiss Ordinance on Measures connected with the Situation in Ukraine (the “Ordinance”). The amended annex entered into force on 27 September 2022 at 18:00 CET.

This modification removed eleven individuals from Annex 8 of the Ordinance and thus no longer subjects them to an asset and economic resource freeze pursuant to article 15 of the Ordinance. The EU had removed the same individuals from their designated parties list via Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2022/1529 of 14 September 2022.

  • Vladimir Volfovich Zhirinovsky
  • Alexey Chernyak
  • Leonid Babashov
  • Alexander Borodai
  • Tatyana Lobach
  • Alexander Mikhailovich Babakov
  • Vladimir Abdualiyevich Vasilyev
  • Alexei Konstantinovich Pushkov
  • Olga Ayziman
  • Saodat Narzieva
  • Vladislav Nikolaevich Deinego

These individuals are primarily members of the Russian state Duma or Federation Council who either supported the use of Russian armed forces in the Ukraine or ratified the government decisions of the Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Mutual Assistance between the Russian Federation and the Donetsk People’s Republic and between the Russian Federation and the Luhansk People’s Republic.

There were no substantive amendments to the Ordinance.

The latest version of the Ordinance is here.

The updated list of sanctioned individuals and entities is here.