UK sanctions

On 18 February 2021, the UK announced sanctions against Myanmar military generals for serious human rights violations, which come into force immediately. The Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab has announced there are 3 individuals subject to immediate asset freezes and travel bans for serious human rights violations by the military and police force (these are in addition to the current 16 sanctioned individuals). These individuals are:

  1. General Mya Tun Oo (Minister of Defence)
  2. Lt General Soe Htut (Minister for Home Affairs)
  3. Lt General Than Hlaing (Deputy Minister for Home Affairs)

In addition, further safeguards are being put in place to stop UK businesses working with Myanmar’s military and to prevent UK aid indirectly supporting the military-led government. This is following the conclusion of an aid review, announced immediately after the coup. Support for government-led reforms has been withdrawn and planned programmes will close. The UK government has announced that it will put in place measures to ensure aid is reaching ‘only the poorest and most vulnerable’ in Myanmar.

Canadian sanctions

On 18 February 2021, Canada also announced sanctions against 9 Myanmar military officials, under the Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations (the Regulations).   With the addition of these 9 individuals Canada now imposes sanctions against 54 individuals and 44 entities.  The sanctions imposed by the Regulations include a prohibition on persons in Canada and Canadians outside of Canada from dealing in any property of listed individuals or providing financial or related services to them.

The newly listed individuals are all senior officials in Myanmar’s military that were either directly involved in the coup d’état perpetrated by the Myanmar Armed Forces, or are members of the military regime’s new governing body, the State Administrative Council. The names of the newly listed individuals are:

  1. Min Aung Hlaing
  2. Soe Win
  3. Sein Win
  4. Soe Htut
  5. Ye Aung
  6. Mya Tun Oo
  7. Tin Aung San
  8. Aung Lin Dwe
  9. Ye Win Oo

Jacqueline Rotondi is an associate in Baker McKenzie's International Commercial Practice Group in Toronto.


Ross Evans is an Associate in Baker McKenzie's London office.